Our people make us

Volunteers and Life Members

BRYO is a community orchestra run entirely by dedicated and generous volunteers.  We appreciate our parents and friends that have donated their time and energy into assisting our organisations success.  In particular we would like to commend the following people who currently serve the Orchestra.

The aim of Brisbane Regional Youth Orchestra Inc. is to promote and foster scholarship, interest, enthusiasm and social welfare of youth in the learning, playing and appreciation of music in orchestral and other forms.

If you would like to get involved or volunteer please contact us.

Our People

Director of Music: Shaun Dorney
Associate Conductor: Erin Thomson
Ensembles Conductor: Rachelle Lee
Ensembles Conductor: Kendal Alderman

​President: Sam Davies
Vice President: Rosey Dorney, Brendon Crosby
Treasurer: Jane Chen
Secretary: Carly Gonzalez
Finance Committee Chair: Rachelle Lee
Forward Planning Chair:
Scherzo Administrator: David Tite
Immediate Past President: Steve Howett
Media Team: Brendon Crosby, Samantha Smith, Carly Gonzalez
Player Advocates: Ann Carew, Kate Robinson


Mr Martin Albrecht (AC, FTSE, FIE Aust, FAICD, FAIM)
The Right Honourable, the Lord Mayor of Brisbane, Councillor Graham Quirk

Life Members

Mark and Brenda Sullivan (Founders, 1983)
David Medland
Margaret Enright
Greg Freeman (Committee Member incl President, 1986 to 2007)
Shaun Dorney (Conductor 1988, DOM 1995 to present)
Rosey Dorney (Committee Member/Volunteer 1988 to present)
Carmel Gardiner (Committee/President)
Sue and Bluey Aumann (Committee/President/Librarian, 2003 to present)
Rachelle Lee (Player 1990, Conductor 2006 to present)
Narelle Cathcart (Committee Member/Secretary, 2009 to 2017)

Give today

Support us and change lives through music!

Scroll to Top